The mission of the American Heart Association is “Building healthier lives, free of cardiovascular diseases and stroke.”

Heart disease and stroke are the No. 1 and No. 5 causes of death in the United States. That’s why the American Heart Association has taken on the goal of improving the cardiovascular health of all Americans by 20 percent, while reducing deaths from cardiovascular diseases and stroke by 20 percent. To do this the Association is committed to funding innovative research, providing science-based treatment guidelines to healthcare professionals, educating lawmakers and the public and helping people understand the importance of a healthy lifestyle.

The Heart Walk is just one of the many events that support the American Heart Association.

Giving Opportunities

The American Heart Association has funded over $3.7 Billion in research since 1949, more research than any U.S. organization except the federal government. To make those strides we rely on grants, sponsorships and donations. Aside from monetary gifts, there are a number of ways Arkansans can help move the mission forward, from volunteering with the Advocacy department to impact public policy, to assisting with events and working to reduce health inequities in the state.

Fundraisers and Events

The Heart Ball, April 1, 2017, celebrates our work, donors, volunteers and lives saved.
The Heart Walk, April 29, 2017, helps to raise awareness of heart disease, stroke, and the importance of a healthy lifestyle.
Go Red For Women, May 18, 2017, empowers all women to take control of their heart health.
Festival of Wines, Oct. 5, 2017, features 500 wines from around the world plus delicious foods from local restaurants.

Board of Directors
Dan L. Herrington, Chairman
Brian Eble M.D., President
Sharon Heflin, Past Chair
David R. Fox, Chair Elect
David Jones M.D., President Elect
Blair Allen
Justin Allen
Marcia Atkinson
Sandra Byrd
Mangaraju “Raj” Chakka M.D.
John C. Glassford
Adam Head
Morris E. Kelley M.D.
Lyndell Lay
Mike Poore
John Ryan
Diana Smithson
Cassandra Steele
Oscar D. Washington

Advisory Board
Claudia Barone EdD CCNS-BC, APRN
Thomas Conley M.D.
Jon Lindermann M.D.
Adam Mitchell
Keith Owen
Steve Roberson
Ricardo F. Sotomora M.D.

National Committee Members
Anthony M. Fletcher M.D.
Jean McSweeney Ph.D.

Employees: 20 local, 3,000 national
Service area: Central Arkansas
Established: 1924

909 W. Second Street
Little Rock
(501) 707-6600