The mission of UALR Public Radio – KUAR 89.1 and KLRE Classical 90.5 – is to deepen insight into the human experience, empower decision making and enrich the lives of those we serve through quality news and cultural programs. KUAR 89.1 is news and culture for central Arkansas, providing local news coverage as well as popular national and local programs such as Morning Edition, All Things Considered, The Diane Rehm Show, This American Life, Arkansongs, Arts Scene, Arts & Letters, and Not Necessarily Nashville. KLRE Classical 90.5 offers around-the-clock classical programming, a special and unique service in a market of our size.

Anchor and reporter Jacob Kauffman, Content Development Director Karen Tricot Steward, and News Director Michael Hibblen

Fundraisers and Events

UALR Public Radio hosts on-air fund drives on both stations throughout the year to encourage all listeners to become donors. Special events and community engagement programs are also held periodically and are advertised on-air and on our website. KUAR’s Pub Quiz is an especially fun way to support the stations and enjoy some friendly competition with other public radio fans.

Giving Opportunities

UALR Public Radio is listener-supported radio. The bulk of our funding comes from listeners and businesses right here in central Arkansas. Likewise, the bulk of our spending goes directly toward bringing listeners informative and entertaining programming and unbiased local news coverage. Individual monthly, annual and planned gifts ensure continued strong local and national programming and news. Businesses, corporations and nonprofits best support public radio through numerous underwriting and challenge grant opportunities.

Funding Sources

Interim General Manager: Nathan Vandiver

: 16 (full and part time)
Service area: Central Arkansas
Established: 1973

5820 Asher Avenue
Suite 400

Little Rock
(501) 569-8485

Board of Directors
Kathryn Hazelett
Doug Clark
Vice President
John Adams
Andrea Allen
Cory Biggs
Rodney Block
Miriam Carlisle
Meredith Causey
Leah Dalton
David Davila
George Ernst
Tom Fritsche
 Liz Gron
Kendra Johnson
Ann Owen
Georgia Robinette
Marianne Tettlebaum