Thea Foundation’s Blue Plate Special Returns

Thea Foundation’s Blue Plate Special will return again on Monday, Oct. 15, with a fresh crop of local chefs, great eats and creative cocktails. This year’s event will be held at the Capital Hotel from 6-9 p.m. 

The 2018 Blue Plate Special is chaired by longtime Thea supporter Rusty Mathis. Mathis began working in the hospitality industry as a bellman at the Holiday Inn on Lake Hamilton in 1978. In 1994, he joined the team at Ben E. Keith Foods in Mountain Home and in 2007 his hard work rewarded him with the title of general manager of Ben E. Keith Mid-South. Mathis served on the Thea Foundation board for several years and even helped start the first Blue Plate Special. 

This year’s chefs include: 


Throughout the night, artists will assist the chefs and mixologists. These 13 artists represent the six scholarship categories that Thea Foundation awards each year (visual art, performing art, film, creative writing, spoken word and fashion design). This year’s artists are Bryant Phelan, James Hayes, Gerry Bruno, Genine Latrice Perez, Janis Kearney, Matt McLeod, Rodney Block, Kevin Kresse, Barry Thomas, Amy Garland Angel, Linda Rowe Thomas and Stacey and LeRon McAdoo.

Proceeds from the Blue Plate Special will go toward fulfilling Thea Foundation’s mission to ensure that all Arkansas students have access to the arts. Additionally, the Charles A. Frueauff Foundation has offered a challenge grant of $25,000 to match the first $25,000 raised by the Blue Plate Special.

Individual tickets to the Blue Plate Special are $100 and are available online or by phone at (501) 379-9512. 

Related Articles