Canoe of One Community project with members of the Marshallese community and Shiloh Museum of Ozark History

The purpose of the Arkansas Humanities Council is to promote understanding, appreciation and use of the humanities in Arkansas. Through a competitive grant process, the council provides funding for nonprofits to plan and conduct humanities projects for Arkansas audiences.

Through the humanities we remember our history and envision our future. Reading, writing, storytelling, research and many forms of public dialogue and conversation are central to the humanities and at the core of what the Arkansas Humanities Council does.

The Arkansas Humanities Council is a nonprofit affiliate of the National Endowment for the Humanities.


• Up to $3,000 provides funding for humanities-based classroom projects or professional development for teachers and librarians.

• A monetary gift may be used to further education, literacy and community engagement.

• Unrestricted funds are always welcome to further the work of the Council in providing more opportunities for Arkansans.

1400 W. Markham St., Ste. 400
Little Rock, AR 72201

Established: 1975
Employees: 3
Service Area:Statewide



  • $585,288
    Grant award total
  • 82
    Grant-funded projects in 24 counties
  • $463,300
    CARES Act funds awarded and 46 grant subscriptions


Felicia Smith, Chair
Stuart Towns, Vice Chair
Laura McClellan, Treasurer
Paul Babbitt, Secretary

Amelia Bowman
Marynell Branch
Kevin Butler
Scott Cashion
Kim Coryat
Edma Delgado
Jennifer Hughes
Claudine James
Joseph Key
Robert Moore
Kaylin Mason
Tippi McCullough
James Metzger
Rachel Miller
Robert Moore
Leatrice Russ-Glenns
Tamela Tenpenny-Lewis
Sydney Westbrook
James Willis
Melissa Zabecki