American Heart Association staff help residents set up a community garden in Altheimer, Arkansas.


The American Heart Association strives to create a world of longer, healthier lives. Health isn’t just about your behavior, it’s also about place. Where you live, work, learn, pray and play makes a difference. Studies have shown residents in rural areas live an average of five years less than those in more urban areas. The AHA believes a person’s life expectancy shouldn’t be determined by their ZIP code. It’s working to improve the quality of health care and increase awareness about warning signs of heart disease and stroke. The goal of the American Heart Association is big, but simple: to make the healthy choice the easy choice.


Festival of Wines - Oct. 3, 2019; Chairs: Karen and Terry Masching; Presenting Sponsor: Arkansas Heart Hospital

Hot Springs Heart Ball - Feb. 15, 2020; Chairs: Stephanie and Dr. James Jordan Tucker; Presenting Sponsor: National Park Medical Center

Go Red for Women - March 17, 2020; Chair: Katie Lea; Presenting Sponsor: Saline Memorial Hospital

Heart Ball - April 4, 2020; Chairs: Penny and John Burkhalter; Signature Sponsor: US Bank

Heart Walk - April 25, 2020; Chair: William Clark; Presenting Sponsor: CHI St. Vincent


Through the support of passionate individuals and corporate partners, donors are making a significant difference in the lives of people with heart disease and stroke. Help make a lasting health impact across Arkansas, in central Arkansas and the delta as well.

• Ask your company to sponsor an event or have a workplace giving program.

Volunteer or join a committee.

Form a wellness program with a Heart Walk team, corporate field day or fitness challenge.

13 (3,400 nationally)
Service Area:
Central Arkansas

Justin T. Allen


Justin T. Allen, Chair
Morris E. Kelley, President
Scot Davis, Chair Elect
Thomas Conley, President Elect
Joyce Taylor, Executive Director
Blair Allen Gary Nash
Mangaraju "Raj" Chakka Cam Patterson
Anthony M. Fletcher Michael Poore
John Glassford John P. Ryan
Cara Jones Diana Smithson
Jamie Jones LaShannon Spencer
Lyndell Lay Cassandra Steele
Stephen A. Leek Chris W. White
Marcia Atkinson David Jones
Claudia Barone Adam Mitchell
Brian Eble Keith Owen
Sharon Heflin Steve Roberson
Ricardo F. Sotomora

909 W. Second St.
Little Rock, AR 72201