The Statehouse Convention Center in downtown Little Rock.

The Women's Foundation of Arkansas is gearing up to celebrate this year's honorees for the 24th annual Power of the Purse luncheon. Set for Wednesday, Sept. 21, this annual event was created to celebrate the power and potential of women across the state, and includes a new award category this year: innovation.

The 2022 honorees are:

Woman of the Year in Business: Esperanza Massana Crane, director of minority and women-owned business enterprise division at the Arkansas Economic Development Commission

Woman of the Year in Philanthropy: Heather Larkin, president and CEO of the Arkansas Community Foundation

First Lady’s Woman in Public Service: First Lady Susan Hutchinson

Woman of the Year in Innovation: Shelley Simpson, president and chief commercial officer for J.B. Hunt Transport Services

This year, the event is co-chaired by Beverly Morrow and Shannon Hendrix and will take place from 11:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. in the Wally Allen Ballroom at the Statehouse Convention Center. Tickets are available now, but seating is limited. And if you can't attend on Sept. 21, you can still make a donation online in lieu of your attendance.

For more details on the foundation and Power of the Purse, visit the WFA website, and follow along on Facebook and Instagram for the latest. 

Read on: Shelley Simpson is Innovating Equity